Online Now   Players   Tournaments

2016ACOP: The Race to Two - Part 3

Full disclosure. This was never meant to be a trilogy.

Back in 2014, the timing seemed right for the Asia Championship of Poker (ACOP) to realize a two-time winner of their ACOP Title Events - the tournaments which award the coveted ACOP Spadies trophies.

Two years later, we've awarded 53 Spadies to 53 different players and that seems like too large a number for another miss (and yes I'm fully prepared to be wrong again).

If you missed the first two parts, here they are:

Part 1
Part 2

So let's take a look at some of the close calls from last year.


Steve O'Dwyer won his first Spadie by taking down the Super High Roller event in 2014. Last year he went deep in the Main Event where he finished in 15th place. However, it was once again the Super High Roller where he'd come close to a repeat performance but fell three places short finishing in fourth place.

Steve_O'Dwyer_29sept16.jpgSteve O'Dwyer


Taiwan's Leon Hsu won the PLO Championship and then almost made it back-to-back Spadies when - just 24 hours later - he was the runner-up in the 6-Max Championship. It was a moment of both exhilaration and devastation all at the same time.

Leon_Hsu_29sept16.jpgLeon Hsu

As we head into the 2016 ACOP, let's take a look at who the top candidates are for a second Spadie.


If you're a man of the classics then no doubt you use money to keep score.

Unsurprisingly, Steve O'Dwyer continues to lead the All-time Earnings category. He added another HK$3 million in last year's series to stretch his lead on the list.

2015 Super High Roller winner Andy Andrejevic and 2013 Main Event champion Sunny Jung come in at third and fourth. Meanwhile, Fabian Quoss (HK$5,271,000) and Jeff Rossiter (HK$5,227,000) have dropped out of the Top Five.

*Asterisk denotes players with an ACOP Spadie

ACOP All-time Earnings Leaders

1. Steve O'Dwyer (Ireland) -- HK$17,128,100*
2. Ryan Fee (Canada) -- HK$9,950,000
3. Andy Andrejevic (USA) -- HK$8,725,000*
4. Sunny Jung (Korea) -- HK$8,602,000*
5. Joseph Cheong (USA) -- HK$7,023,000


You can't win a tournament if you don't make it to the money so if consistency is your thing then Hong Kong's Ronald Yu is Mr. Consistent with 7 cashes and 5 final tables.

But this is an article about the people most like to win a second Spadie and Yu is still looking for his first.

There's a five-way tie at 6 cashes but only 3 of them have titles: Sparrow Cheung, Yoichi Fujiya, and Dong Guo. Cheung has made four final tables (vs. 2 FTs from the others) so he's surely the favourite of the bunch.

Sparrow_Cheung_29sept16.jpgSparrow Cheung

ACOP All-time Cashes

1. Ronald Yu (Hong Kong) - 7 cashes
T2. Sparrow Cheung (Hong Kong) - 6 cashes*
T2. Dimitar Danchev (Bulgaria) - 6 cashes
T2. Yoichi Fujiya (Japan) - 6 cashes*
T2. Dong Guo (China) - 6 cashes*
T2. Saehoon Lee (Korea) - 6 cashes

Who do you think will win the race to two ACOP Spadies? Here's the full list of champions below.

The 2016 Asia Championship of Poker begins on October 28 at the 'PokerStars LIVE Macau' poker room.



Piotr Kaniapo (Poland) -- Rebuy Championship
Wei Zhao (China) -- Deepstack Championship
Leon Hsu (Taiwan) -- PLO Championship
Joel Micka (USA) -- 6-Max Championship
Andrew Shanahan (Australia) -- KO Big Bounty
Vladimir Troyanovskiy (Russia) -- 2m GTD Spadie
Dong Guo (China) -- ACOP Warm-up
Phanlert Sukonthachartnant (Thailand) -- High Roller
Chao Tan (China) -- Ladies Asia Championship
Jimmy Zhou (China) -- Main Event
Jason Mo (USA) & Kitty Kuo (Taiwan) -- Teams Championship
Takuya Yamashita (Japan) -- $15,000 NLH
Andy Andrejevic (USA) - Super High Roller
Cannon Lim (Singapore) -- Turbo Championship
Xixiang Luo (China) -- $9,000 NLH


Kunal Patni (India) -- Rebuy Championship
Anju Abrol (India) -- Deepstack Championship
Jose Alberto Rivas (Venezuela) -- 6-Max Championship
Klaus Pautrot (France) -- PLO Championship
Orjan Skommo (Norway) -- KO Big Bounty
Chris Chong (Singapore) -- 2m GTD Spadie
Kamonchanok Tammchaiyangkoon (Thailand) -- Ladies Asia Championship
Steve O'Dwyer (Ireland) -- MBP Super High Roller
Wai Tung Lo (Hong Kong) -- ACOP Warm-up
Gabriel Le Jossec (Canada) -- Main Event
Dmitry Ivanov (Russia) -- Turbo Championship
Scott Davies (USA) -- $8,800 NLH
Sparrow Cheung (Hong Kong) -- $15,000 NLH
Fabian Quoss (Germany) -- MBP High Roller


Ioan Taizs (Romania) -- Rebuy Championship
Thomas Zhang (UK) -- Deepstack Championship
Apoorva Goel (India) -- 6-Max Championship
Jian Yang (China) -- ACOP Warm-up
Jay Tan (Hong Kong) -- Ladies Asia Championship
Edison Nguyen (Australia) -- PLO Championship
Ken Demlakian (Australia) -- KO Big Bounty
Sunny Jung (Korea) -- Main Event
Michael Mariakis (Australia) -- Turbo Championship
Jan Schwippert (UK) -- $15,000 NLH
Senh Man Ung (UK) -- 250k High Roller (1 Rebuy)
Celina Lin (China) -- $8,800 NLH


Raymond Wu (Taiwan) -- Deepstack Championship
Hirotoshi Nakabo (Japan) -- Six-Handed Championship
Yoichi Fujiya (Japan) -- Rebuy Championship
Jeff Rossiter (Australia) -- ACOP Warm-up
Anton Astapau (Belarus ) -- Turbo Championship
Xing Zhou (China) -- Main Event
Sam Razavi (UK) -- KO Big Bounty
Bo Wu (China) -- $15,000 NLH
Chuanbin Yao (China) -- $8,000 NLH
Jonathan Karamalikis (Australia) -- 250k High Roller
Emi Hibuse (Japan) -- Ladies Asia Championship

« Previous | Home | Next »